Archinect
anchor

Student in need of answers

Exhibit 201+4

I am a 8th grade student doing their Exhibition project on the career of an architect. Architecture has intrigued me for quite a while. I would very much so appreciate if someone could describe the course of architectural theory as well as building design. And if someone could tell me of other courses required to gain a B.Arch, M.Arch, or D.Arch to gain a license. Thank you.

Mar 7, 13 9:38 pm
vado retro

The break-down will vary by school, and even by program within the same school.  One thing that seems uniform however, is the emphasis on "studio" (Sometimes called architecture studio or design studio in a course catalog).  Generally this studio will be worth twice the credit hours of your typical seminar or lecture (6-7 in my case), but will comprise anywhere from 80-100% of a students academic and social life.  This time emphasis will of course extend beyond regular hours, often spanning multiple days without pause.  Knowing this, professors often integrate ideas or projects which focus on particular areas of knowledge that is essential to becoming an architect.  Things such as ADA compliance, or situating a project within a certain theoretical context, might become requirements of the studio project or projects.  Some studio's will have a single project spanning the entire semester, others will have several shorter projects (I've seen a few that spanned multiple semesters, too, though a little less common)

Other classes that seem rather uniform across schools, include structures, environmental controls (HVAC, lighting, sound, etc.), architectural history, construction technology, performance programming, professional practice.  I'm sure that I'm forgetting something, which only reinforces the idea that very little mattered outside of studio.