Archinect
anchor

How long is too long to be unemployed in architecture?

Archinecter1

I am an architect currently residing in a financially depressed mid western state. With 2.5 years of experience I have been looking for work for 4.5 years with little success. So far I have only found two 2 month contract positions with a mentor of mine. I have sent out over 300 resumes / portfolios to major cities using out of state addresses to no avail.

Where I live the auto industry jobs are prevalent and I have an opportunity to study  Unigraphics and Catia V5 for free and receive a paid internship working in automotive part design. This opportunity will help me pay my student loans quicker, is more stable than architecture, and pays x2. I have also been looking into UI/UX.

My question is,  with 4.5 years of unemployment is there a possibility (without going back to graduate school) that I could still obtain employment in the near future, specifically when the economy turns around? Or should I take the opportunity I have now and never look back at architecture?

Mar 5, 13 12:29 pm
krmccurdy

Never look back.  I think you answered your own question in the last sentence of the second paragraph.

Mar 5, 13 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
observant

2.5 employed and 4.5 NOT employed.  Are you honest about your own skills and interest level?  You don't have to answer that.  Is there something else you would rather do?  You have to answer that.

Mar 5, 13 1:17 pm  · 
 · 
mtt9999

Do you have a family (husband, wife, kids) or something? Why would you not just pack your bags and fly to New York, Chicago, or San Fran. Many of my friends were unemployed. They flew to New York, crashed on a couch and went door to door at architecture firms. ALL OF THEM GOT JOBS at an architecture firm within 2 months. Even the ones who were out of meaningful work for more than 2 years.