Archinect
anchor

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo (3rd year transfer)

elainehuang_314

Hi, I'm a undergraduate student decide to transfer into Cal Poly San Luis Obispo.

What I heard from others is: Cal Poly SLO having a better architecture program than USC, UCLA, UC Berkeley and Sci-Arch. Is that true?
PLUS, Architecture has the highest Unemployment Rate in the United State. So I think I should to go to a better school, or else I won't able to find a job after I grad?!

My application is going to be this Sep, which mean I'll still have time to think, but I wanna start with my portfolio now. What should I do to put on my portfolio for Cal Poly SLO?
All the archi model I did in class? Some art pieces? ( I actually want to show them my art skill, I used to take AP-studio art in High School. So i had a pretty strong art skill ). 

What should I do to stand out myself? (bigger chance to get in) 
(My GPA is 3.9 so far. I'm living in San Diego, internship is hard to find, but I did some other activities like math tutor, caring group leader at church, and I lead songs for workship.....more) 

help me, wanna read some different opinions :]

THANK YOU!! 

Feb 19, 13 7:21 pm
snail

From an east coast point of view: UCLA, Sci Arc, and Berkeley are the best schools in California, with USC following them. I have barely heard of Cal Poly SLO. If you're going off of the DesignIntelligence rankings which their website seems to brag about, those rankings are about as accurate as if you pulled random school names out of a hat.

Feb 19, 13 7:27 pm  · 
 · 

I'm a bit biased as I went to Cal Poly and found the education to be world class. It is (or at least was) a bargain at the time when comparing the quality of the education versus the price I paid for it. It is consistently ranked one of the top undergraduate programs in the country. The validity of these rankings can be debated. The survey comes from a massive number of working architects which seems to lead some credence.