Archinect
anchor

3d Models - options?

Hi everyone,

Firstly, let me say I am not an architect - however I'm looking for a little advice regarding what you guys do for creating physical models of your projects. 

Obviously, I've seen the amazing handmade visions of skyscrapers and multimillion-dollar apartment blocks, but I'm interested in what's currently possible for smaller projects where there isn't budget to create a glossy handmade models?

If, for example, you were designing a million dollar house for a client would you create a physical model for the client? What does something like this cost? Which materials would be used and how long does it take to create?

Many in thanks advance for those who are able to advise.

Kind Regards,

Scott Mansell.

Feb 13, 13 9:55 am
BulgarBlogger

There are a few ways to make physical models. I am not a professional model maker, but I've made a lot of models in school and out of school. 

Generally, the cost of materials and quality of the models depends on the level of detail you want. If you are doing a study model in which you just want to throw a few ideas at the client- make it out of cardboard or chipboard. It should cost you only a few dollars. If you are doing a final presentation and want the model(s) to look really nice you can:

1) 3D print the model (very expensive- usually starting at $10/cubic inch of material)

2) Hand make the model with laser cut components. You need a laser cutter. Assuming you have one available for free, the cost is exactly the same as making the model by hand. The trick is to have the entire building laid out in autoCAD and have the components you want laser cut put on the laser cutting template. You can laser cut wood, plexi, and other materials.