Archinect
anchor

Architect + Developer as partners

skyview

I have a situation that I would like to know how to handle...

I am a new developer in a city and found a condemed historic property to develop into residential condos though an architect I was introduced to. This architect has experience in restoring historical property, and we clicked. Long story-short, I met him several times to discuss my development ideas and had him draw a schematic of what I wanted which was combining the 3 story historic building with the small 1 story retail space next door and buliding a 10 story loft condo. While I was in the long process of negotiating the purchase of the historic building he quietly bought the bulding next door without saying anything until after he had closed on it. Now he bought himself into my deal which I didn't mind because I couldn't afford buying both properties and needed his expertise. My question is, he wants me to hire him for the architectural services and presented me with a proposal for his fees. I told him I'd get back with him, but this seemed very odd to me if he plans to be a partner in the project. I don't mind paying an architect but most of his fees are up front and no risk...what about any errors, redraws, etc...how do I handle this so everyone is happy?

Feb 7, 13 11:56 pm

If you are using the AIA series of contract documents this will all be very clear. It is a series of contract documents which has been around for around a hundred years. I'd say that is how it is done. You will have a good idea of where the risk is and how to minimize the contingencies. 

Feb 15, 13 7:15 pm  · 
 · 
Snoopy316