Archinect
anchor

Entry Level Salary for B.A. in Architecture?

refreshme_taco

Hi,

I'm currently living in Southern CA.  I just got a (tentative) job offer from a firm I interned at last summer.  It's a small shop, with less than a dozen employees.  I graduated from a fairly prestigious university with a B.A. in Architecture.  I'm great with Rhino/Grasshopper and the Adobe suite(which is mainly what my internship revolved around), good with AutoCAD, and familiarized with Revit.

What am I worth/what would you ask for?

Feb 6, 13 8:05 pm
OneLostArchitect

$7.35/hr?

Feb 6, 13 9:10 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

50k - 60k

Feb 7, 13 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

I'd ask for more but they may offer 27k - 35k

Feb 7, 13 2:06 pm  · 
 · 
ncecchi

Xenakis, where and when are you living?

There is no shortage of qualified Interns with higher degrees than yours in SoCal.

I would expect to start around $12/ hr with lots of extra hours thrown in.

Feb 7, 13 3:52 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat

My firm (corporate, LA) offers recent grads around $20/hr.  so for smaller shops, it's not unreasonable to ask for $20, but settle around $18 or so.

Feb 7, 13 4:07 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

Nicholas

San Francisco is where I work - my crib is over in Oakland

Feb 7, 13 4:17 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

There is no shortage of qualified Interns with higher degrees than yours in SoCal.

I have an M.Arch and 4 years exp.

Actually - There is no shortage of qualified Interns with M.arch Degrees in NorCal. 

Feb 7, 13 4:32 pm  · 
 · 
refreshme_taco

So...the range I'm getting is 15k - 60k.  That is very large...

Nicholas, that was what I made during my summer internship.  I'd like to think that if they bring me on as a full-time employee, I'd make more than that...

I think I'm going to ask for $19/hr (38k).  Is this unreasonable?

Feb 7, 13 4:51 pm  · 
 · 
ncecchi

If you made that in an internship, I would ask for 15 or 18, depending on how feisty you feel.