Archinect
anchor

Balcony Questions?

BeangukEXE

Hi, I'm just a high school student, but I'm looking to get into architecture. I've started on a project, and I wanted to know a few things about the balcony. How big can a balcony be without having a post underneath it? And if so, how big would the post be?

Also, I don't really know what type of category this would fit into, if anyone could direct me to the correct place, that'd be great.

Any feedback would be great!

Jan 22, 13 12:46 pm
Thecyclist

I'm guessing this balcony will be built and supported by wood...?  Will there be any heavy objects placed on the balcony...?  Large planters, furniture, hot tub, large grill, etc...?

It sounds like you're asking how far a balcony can cantilever before it needs to be supported by a column(s).  Using the widest typical lumber dimensions found at the usual hardware stores...I'm guessing that's a 2x12.  To take advantage of the structural integrity of the board, they should be placed with the long dimension standing vertically.  The denser the placement, the farther you can cantilever...but because it's wood, I wouldn't go beyond 5 feet.  If you do go to five feet, maybe place them at 1 foot on-center.

Jan 22, 13 2:00 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

if one end is fastened to a house at the second floor against a rim joist or something, then you need a post or some other sort of structure to hold up the other end even if it's 4" wide.

if you have two support points holding a 2x12 beam/joist at the back, there is a rule of thumb that you can overhang about 1/3 of the member length.  if your beam is 15' long, then the back 10' has to be supported and it can overhang about 5'.

if it's wood, the post would be a 4x4, unless for some reason it was a 6x6.  if you cut a notch in the post to set a beam or joist on, you probably want a 6x6

draw a picture of what you're trying to figure out and post it.  it might help.

Jan 22, 13 2:09 pm  · 
 · 
snook_dude