Archinect
anchor

Weird request from my boss

ziazia
Hi all, I wanted to get some advice on how to handle something thats going on at my job. So recently I quit y job a an architect at a firm I have been working for two years now. Apart from being an architect I also did a lot of conceptual design with ecotect and vasari. I learned how to use these programs at the university and at my previous job as a sustainable design consultant. I believe that it is not important to know how to use the software but the knowledge and concepts that go behind. Anyway, I am leaving my job in a week or two and my boss asks me do make a "manual" or tutorials on how to use these programs at the firm. I don't think that's fair for me or anyone else after all the time I have dedicated to learn about mechanical eng., energy, daylight, physics, etc. I don't think it's good to give instructions on how to use the software to people who don't have the basic concepts of te science behind that.

What do you think? How do you think I should handle this?

*also, this is in Ecuador and not many people have that specially here, I might be on of the first here.

Jan 17, 13 10:01 am
ziazia
Sorry for the spelling/typos I'm typing on a smartphone with language and autocorrect in Spanish... It's hell haha
Jan 17, 13 10:03 am  · 
 · 
On the fence

He paid for the programs so you could use them at his firm.  A part of your employment seems to be based on this.  When you leave, he has to be able to fill that slot you left.  So I would say that a basic tutorial is not out of line.  He is still paying you and you are still an employee.  Just my 2 cents.

Jan 17, 13 11:14 am  · 
 · 
zonker

On the fence

You are totally right - I have been asked to do the same in all my various incarnations - and I wrote documents on processes - It's one thing if you are the owner/licensee of the software as was the case when I owned a Maya license back in my Video game life. 

Jan 17, 13 11:45 am  · 
 · 
ncecchi