Archinect
anchor

Columbia Intro to Arch. & Other Similar Programs

El Tejon

Hi,

I'm a third-year structural engineering student from Canada, interested in eventually completing my M.Arch after graduation. To prepare myself for this (and ensure that architecture is the correct path for me), I've applied to a bunch of summer architecture programs, to build a portfolio. I've already been offered admission into Columbia's Intro. to Architecture program, as well as Parsons' similar program. I am planning to apply to summer programs at Harvard, Austin TX, and the YArch program at Chicago. I was considering also applying to Glasgow, but their summer program seems less focused on architecture/design. Plus, I'm from Canada... and it's in Glasgow.

I was wondering which of these programs would be "ranked" the highest on this forum, or if anyone could share their experiences and/or opinions of these programs. Columbia's seems to be most appealing to me at this point, but I would like to hear some other opinions before I accept. Any help at all would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Jan 16, 13 7:47 pm
siesta

I'm also interested in attending one of these summer programs, and am wondering the same thing. Also, how difficult it is to get into these programs, and what to expect when I'm there.

No one has responded to this thread, but perhaps we can share any info we learn on our own? If you find anything out, post it here, and I'll do likewise. One thing I learned today, from the chair of the architecture department at the community college I'm attending, is to target the schools you want to get into for a master's program, as they will know you already, and it shows you know what their program is about and you're very interested in it. He also said that if you attend any of the big names, it'll be helpful wherever you apply to graduate school.