Archinect
anchor

Once more, with feeling: 3DH

SDR

I know there's been a lot of discussion about 3DH on the forum, and I'm a newbie. I haven't gone through the archives, but I suspect I might not find the answer to my question. So I've started this thread.

What are the structural merits/demerits of 3DH ?

Per asked me "what is wrong with this":

http://home20.inet.tele.dk/h-3d/manzard-wh-r.jpg

Here is my answer:

I see by the URL that this object may have been intended as a Mansard roof . That would explain the shape of the object -- I had assumed it to be a complete building.

My problem (aside from the surprising and unsupported claims made for the finished building, which we have never seen) is that it appears to be a monolithic construction -- like an injection-molded plastic box, let us say.

But we are told that this is made of finite pieces, so the question arises "where are the joints ?" In other words, to achieve maximum rigidity without excessive use of material, which pieces are continuous and which are interrupted ? Are the horizontal planes (roof and floor) spanned with continuous pieces -- like conventional joists and rafters -- with the cross members acting as bridging and connectors ? If so, why are they arranged (in plan) on the diagonal, where each spanning member must be roughly 1 1/2 times longer that would be the case if the eggcrate were oriented normal to the plan rectangle ?

Or is the structure made entirely of small pieces, as in a lamellar dome or vault ? The problem here would be that the planes of your structure are flat, so that the advantage of all the pieces being in compression is lost, and a relatively weak panel is the result: the rigidity is achieved entirely by the strength in each of the joints.