Archinect
anchor

small projects

SDR

These last two projects give affirmation and meaning to every child-architect's early vision, that the unsheathed house frame, going up in his or her neighborhood, was far more delightful at that state than it was later. . .

Feb 16, 08 12:51 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box
calatrava

marktplatz bus stop, sankt gallen

Feb 16, 08 6:35 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box
nick grimshaw

nyc bus shelters/newsstands/etc

la dallman
bus shelter

Feb 17, 08 5:32 am  · 
 · 

sorry, but, as you can probably tell by now, holz, i'm not good at just pictures without commentary...

that grimshaw shelters project can hardly be called a 'small project' just because the individual artifacts are small. while most of these projects you've posted have a particular one-off bespoke quality, the shelters project was a metro wide string of structures that was only possible because of the numbers: leveraging the modularity of pieces through multiplication.

carry on!

Feb 17, 08 7:41 am  · 
 · 
snook_dude

Robert Oshatz

Feb 17, 08 12:15 pm  · 
 · 
snook_dude

Robert Oshatz

Feb 17, 08 12:18 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

alriiiiight, Steven... I'll give it a shot. writing's not my forte.

Niels Bruun & Henrik Corfitsen arkitekter
Nordic Watercolour Museum Ateliers- Skärhamn, SE

the project was won via one of the largest nordic competitions at the time.
the residences sit precariously at the edge of the world, Skärhamn is located at the westernmost part of sweden.
the siting appears to be a play on local buildings, which also reach out to land and water - Skärhamn has a well protected harbor and doubles in size during summer.

each atelier is 520 sf.
i wasn't able to find a floor plan, but i'm assuming that there is a bathroom, kitchenette and work space on the ground floor, with a bedroom/workspace upstairs. the interior is minimally finished.

the exterior is vertically oriented wood siding, painted grey.

as a whole, the architect flips buildings which adds a touch of frivolity.