Archinect
anchor

Need advice :: Freelance Architect

inky-j

Hello,

I've been a graphic designer and web developer for 10+ years. Since I was little, I've designed homes and furniture too. I took drafting classes throughout high school. For several years I've been wanting to see my drawings come to life and not just sit in my sketchbook and I'm getting tired of the 2D world of graphic design.

So, I'm starting to consider going to school for architecture. I remember almost doing that when I first started college but everyone said it was arduous . . .and the I found graphic design and loved it. 

Anyway, I've had many kinds of working situations and I'm pretty confident I don't want to work for a big firm  or even for a small one. I love working for myself and having clients across the country. I also want to build in the multiple states I have roots in. 

What are my options and what is it going to take for me to get to a position to be able to freelance as an architect - I imagine doing residential homes, remodels and retrofits as well as landscaping.

I need advice on schools, programs, and just general stuff I need to know - I don't really know squat right now.

Thanks so much.

j

Dec 25, 12 3:34 pm
Tasnim Kadiwala

Hi,

I am a mother of a 2 and 1/2 years old child. I had worked for a year former to my delivery. Now i get time at home and am planning to work as a freelance architect.

I just want some clues to help me out how i can start searching for such jobs and which kind of work i should start with.

Thanks.

Apr 1, 14 1:54 pm  · 
 · 
nocturne

I don't want to discourage you, just going to walk through the process, so bare with me for a moment...