Archinect
anchor

Help needed figuring out fee

Jefferson

I've been asked by an old client (community college) to draw all their buildings into CAD, from hard copy working drawings done before CAD (arch drawings only, no structure, MEP).  There are probably 10-15 buildings and many are vastly different in size.   I'm trying to figure out what to charge per hour, or to establish a fixed price based on estimated time to do the whole project or different pieces of the project (ie. each building).  It's pretty tough to estimate though and I don't want to screw myself.    Can anyone advise on this?  I'd be very appreciative.  I'm a licensed architect with 13 years experience if that matters.

Dec 13, 12 10:07 am
drums please, Fab?

what level of detail do they want?  is it just walls, doors, windows or do they want the cad to look like the original drawings with all dims, notes, or is it somewhere in between?

you should probably be able to draw 1 floor of an average classroom building (2500 s.f.?) in about 2-4 hours but who knows?  there are your cad skills, the complexity of the building, the level of detail required - all sorts of variables to consider.

just estimate your time and add about 10-20% to that time because it always takes longer to do than you think.

Dec 13, 12 10:37 am  · 
 · 
curtkram

are you visiting the buildings in real life to see if they still match the original documents?  that makes it take much longer, but tends to provide better results.  i don't see drawing a floor in 2 hours as being reasonable unless it's really straight-forward and simple.  maybe 4.  When you get the original documents, there is a fair chance a lot of it will be unreadable, dimension strings that don't add up, and the drawing possibly not being to scale.  they just did things different back then ;)

Dec 13, 12 10:50 am  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

Licensed architect and 13 years experience and you don't know how to put together a bid? No wonder...