Archinect
anchor

Frustrations with replying to job ads

I just want to vent my frustrations with job searching in NYC.  I have been a registered architect for almost 2 years now with 10 years post graduate professional experience in multifamily housing, hi end residential, and commerical work.  I would think that the applicant pool would shrink and my chances of getting replies would have increased after I spent 3 years taking the exams to unlock the license .  Although I have had 2 interviews this year from ad responses on the Archinect job board, I feel I should have had more.  

I only apply to ads that have requirements that match my qualifications closest.  I know I don't meet every single point but when I apply I feel I meet 90% of their requirements.   Perhaps there is that person that does meet them 100%?  

Is there anyone out there that can help me make my submissions better so I increase my chances of response?  A few questions or suggestions:

1.  How late is too late to respond to an ad?

2.  What is expected in the work samples?  It seems these employers want your whole portfolio these days before they interview you!  In my current work samples I show renderings and pictures of my best work after construction along with some millwork details.  Should I describe the projects below the samples and how I prepared them?

3.  The cover letters take the most time to write.  How can I effectively convey to the employer I meet their qualifications.  

4.  What 3D/BIM programs should be a priority to learn at this point?

This year I reviewed sample submissions with the director of the AIA NYC chapter and a top recruiter.  Both thought my submissions were impressive but I would love to know why these perspective employers don't seem to think so if I am not getting responses.  

I am currently working but not in a good place. the environment I work in is not a place I want to remain as I feel some of my skills are already suffering the longer I work there.