Archinect
anchor

Salary in Beijing

lottie576

I was just offered an internship from European architecture company at their 

Beijing office.  I have two years of professional experience out of school.

The salary they offered me is 5000 RMB.  I am used to making about 43,000/year

here in US... Was looking for foreign experience before I head back to grad school

next year.

Is that too low, even for money value in Bejing?

Should I try to negotiate / ask if there are any benefits?

Thank you!

Nov 16, 12 9:59 am
LITS4FormZ

It's not unheard of, but it is definitely on the low-end. I have friends with less experience working part-time (3 days per week) for European firms making more than that. 

How long is the internship, how large is the office and how much responsibility will you assume in the office? Is there room to renegotiate after a certain period? What are the office hours? 

Benefits that you could discuss...paid housing with other interns, visa sponsorship, emergency healthcare, monthly performance bonuses and transportation/meal reimbursement for working late. Many of these benefits are rare in todays market but certain firms may still offer them if they want you bad enough. 

Nov 16, 12 10:13 am  · 
 · 
lottie576

It will for about 7 month, and it is a full-time.

The office itself is not too big (I think in their main location in Berlin they have about

20 people, and in Beijing I am not sure)

I think I will be doing many main duties in the office - the interviewer knows

I have experience in US and have been doing main modeling/presentation

duties.  I was thinking of asking for 6000RMB, and discuss benefits.

When I ask for benefits, should I list them out or just simply ask if they offer

any benefits?  I have not done much negotiating (in firms I worked for in US

they offered ok salary in first place as well as benefit package so I just accepted)

Thank you so much for your help!

Nov 16, 12 1:12 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ