Archinect
anchor

"To pursue" or "Not to pursue"

lhusak

Hey Everybody!

So, I’m at a crossroads in my life….I'm debating about following a childhood dream and becoming an architect; however, I curious if it is too late to follow. Here’s my story…

When deciding on what to major in…I had it narrowed down to three options: Geology, Architecture, or Business; I took the business route. So I got my Bachelors degree in Business Administration, and now I’m working on my MBA degree in which I intend to receive this coming May. For some reason though, I have the feeling something is missing, and I believe I narrowed it down to the fact that the right side of my brain (the creative side)  is being smothered by the lack of creativity  in the financial service industry (where I currently work a full time job). My current thoughts tend to make me believe Architecture is the answer to this predicament, so I’ve been looking into Iowa State’s M. Arch program. I mean in my free time I can sit and work with Photoshop for hours, as to where I can only sit and work with business in increments of 15mins before I’m bored out of my mind.

I guess my question to you is…“should I take up architecture?” “Is it too late in the game to do so? (keep in mind I’m only 24 and ISU’s program is 3 years and would allow me to sit for the ARE upon completion) How is it perceived, in the architect world, when someone has an MBA and M Arch degree? Any other insights or words of advice would be great! Feel free to post here or via email: [email protected])

Best Regards,

Lance

(PS. If you want to read more about me…check out my LinkedIn profile… http://www.linkedin.com/in/lancehusak )

Nov 12, 12 10:55 am
curtkram

sit for the ARE right after school?  I'm pretty sure you're still going to need IDP, even if you can do that concurrently with the tests, which may be a bigger barrier to entry than school.