Archinect
anchor

How do you determine if a "brand name" school is worth it for you ...

Reeeg

I have heard from time to time, if you are going for Master don't settle for any school but go for brand name school. I would like to apply to school in the states (ie. Berkeley) for M.Arch I. However, being a international student, my financial burden at the end of the program would be $200k. Based on a average the not so attractive salary, it seems would take forever to pay off this loan. 

Can anyone tell me what's the advantages of going into brand name school aside from the name? and what do you all see as a brand name school?

May 12, 11 7:50 am
won and done williams

Looking at schools in terms of "brand names" strikes me as rather odd. For one, I'm not sure I would call Berkeley a "brand name," though it is however a very good school. Perhaps you would call Harvard or Yale a brand name, but I'm not sure what the point of calling them that would be. I think it's been echoed here countless times, you choose the school for what it can offer you and what you want to get out of your education. If all you are looking for from a graduate program is a "brand name" degree, I would rethink why you are going back to grad school.

May 12, 11 8:12 am  · 
 · 
trace™

I think you are getting "name brands" confused with other professions and educations.  It is certainly true that the "name brand" makes a massive difference when you are talking about law, medicine or business.  Really, the differences of pay are quite significant, which easily justifies the tuition differences.

However, you are talking about architecture.  That is not the same thing.  Not at all.  The "name brand" will not get you more pay and the doors it opens is quite questionable.

So, if you are going to Harvard for law, business or medicine then by all means, find a way to pay for it.  For architecture, it is just absurd (unless you have the money to pay for it easily).

May 12, 11 8:20 am  · 
 · 
postal