Archinect
anchor

The Language of Architecture

oculus17

Hi,

I'm an under graduate student of architecture and my task is to make a presentation on the Language of Architecture only through pictures and photographs.

Before that I would like to have a better understanding of the subject itself. For me this 'language' is more of an expression of the architect and it is expressed in terms of its alphabets (the elements) and its grammar(principles). 

What do you think? What works, projects or designs express language in its highest order in your opinion? Please enlighten me!

Nov 3, 12 9:26 am
drums please, Fab?

a BLAST

from the PAST !!

Nov 3, 12 10:36 am  · 
 · 
chatter of clouds

hi;

the notion of an architectural language is, in my opinion, debatable in the sense that the conventional purpose of langage is challenged. i don't sense that architecture's purpose is to direct/carry a message or even a meaning although it might seem to   (for instance "gravity", "seamlessness"..) and although it might have been engendered by way of meaning. i think, unlike non-poetic language, architectural design intentions and, thereafter, architectural experience are not placed relative each other in such a direct consequential manner as issuing and receiving non-poetic language is. however, the usage  expresses your tutor's stance and introduction of sorts...which is all good and fine, after all, beyond sheltering and accomodating functions pragmatically, architecture is a layering and association of assumptions. i'm saying this just so the notion of architecture as language isn't encouraged as a religion.