Archinect
anchor

How hard is it to find a job!!

Aiyush

So many people whom I graduated with are in the same boat, but finding a job in a firm is so difficult nowadays.  I have considered re-training in another field but am still hopeful that 1 day the building industry will pick up again.  Freelancing has it's advantages in that you are able to pick and choose what projects you wish to do and not having to answer to anyone but at the same time, it would be nice to work in an environment with similar minded people and have a continuous flow of work.

Oct 15, 12 11:33 am

This is something I've said before and most will probably not agree with it — finding a job is a numbers-game based on chance; it's an exercise of dumb luck. With an increasing number of larger companies moving towards automated resume screeners while other companies have staffing shortages, your best bet is to get your resume in the stack within the first 30 or so applicants.

However, if you play the game long enough, you'll eventually succeed with 1-out-of-100 chance.

Oct 15, 12 12:15 pm  · 
 · 

sometimes 1 out of 200

Oct 15, 12 5:32 pm  · 
 · 
sandhilldesign

However there are a number of things that can help your prospects. Making connections with firms and architects can really help. Having a portfolio that is different helps. Also one might consider sitting on a local government board for design reviews or affordable housing. Getting in the system is really the name of the game.

Oct 15, 12 6:00 pm  · 
 · 
Archboy

2 years looking finally found a free internship which was shit....I regret choosing architecture 

Oct 15, 12 6:31 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

I think the school you've attended plays a large part too ... Some employers are more likely to look at your portfolio and give you a job when they hear you graduated from so and so university.

Oct 15, 12 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
Ms.Winston

How hard is it to find a job!!

was your original question,  or exclamation