Archinect
anchor

Graphic Design + Architecture?

colinst16

Hey Guys,

I'm a High School Senior, and have narrowed down what i want to major in to either Graphic Design or engineering. I've self taught myself graphic design for 3-4 years now, and so I have more experience with this, and was fairly certain I'd go into graphic design. I've always been a really big fan of modern architecture, especially home design, and am now considering it to be something I might want to do as well. Is their any merit to taking a 4 year bachelor's in graphic design, and then going into a M.Arch program? I was thinking possibly 4 years of undergrad graphic design at Emily Carr, and then the M.Arch program at UBC. Would a path like this actually be useful, or would the Bachelor's in graphic design just be a waste of time? 

Thanks guys, glad to be a part of this community!

Oct 7, 12 2:18 am
Sergo Antadze

it may be waist of time to be in 4 year program in graphic design if you are already planing to become an architect.

I myself graduated with degree in Architecture and worked as a Graphic Designer for some time, even so I was successful as a graphic designer, I always felt that I did not know everything that comes with formal education (I worked in publishing - newspapers) and felt more confident when worked in architecture, doing what I was trained to do. 

It all depends what kind of graphic designer you want to be? or what kind of architect. your graphic designer skills may be very helpful in your architectural career.

My suggestion will be to pick one from the beginning and stick to it.  

Oct 7, 12 5:50 am  · 
 · 
Ms.Winston