Archinect
anchor

Outcast...

stegmanna

I would very much appreciate it if someone would be so kind as to explain to me why it is that I'm feeling essentially useless to the industry to which I have virtually dedicated myself to since I was 12 years old.
You see, with economic conditions beyond well beyond my control I've found myself unemployed for the past seven months and seemingly unemployable. Now, I'm not sure if it's just as a result of the poor economy or if it's the fact that I lack a degree, but out of the literally hundreds of resume's I've sent out, I've had approximately four interviews, and still find myself seeking employment. I've put forth every possible effort into finding a job that I feel qualified for, but so very few positions advertised overlook educational requirements, or have alternative requirements for experience.
With regards to experience, I have nine years of experience working directly for architectural firms, then I veered into general contracting working for a design/build firm and ultimately ending up with a pure general contractor and finally with a subcontractor.
Is it the varied experience that makes me undesirable within our industry? I always figured someone that has seen action from all sides would be a somewhat desirable candidate. That's not to say that working for a subcontractor is something I felt would be a boon to my career, but I didn't think that it would have deleterious effects either, but I could be wrong.