Archinect
anchor

the shape of two cities @ columbia university

sandiego

Any thoughts on the New York/Paris Program offer by Columbia University? I am taking a break from work and considering attending this program.

Apr 9, 07 2:58 pm
101W101

I have some friends who participated in this program. From what I hear this program is NOT a "walk in the park." It's very intense and seems to work as a filter for those who are and are not truly interested in architecture. They all recommend the program as they have moved onto graduate programs at schools such as Columbia, GSD, Pratt, and Yale.

Good luck.

Apr 9, 07 4:03 pm  · 
 · 
ibizaClubbin

I'm starting this program in the fall...i'm definitely looking fwd to it. I was a computer engineer but i've decided that THAT world was'nt for me. Over the yrs my interest in architecture has grown and now i've finally decided to take that next step. 101w101, its good that u mentioned this program as a "filter"...i'm hoping that architecture is indeed what i wanna do...and that the NY/Paris program will give me a boost in the right direction. Would ur friends say that this program was a vital component for them getting into those schools?

Jul 9, 07 7:29 pm  · 
 · 
squaresquared

Danielle Smoller, the New York studio critic and director, is amazing. I had her as a critic during the Summer Program at the GSAPP. She's very demanding, but you definitely get intelligent criticism and feedback about your work. She isn't a walk in the park.

In fact, I was disappointed that other Columbia professors and critics were not as rigorous and invested as she when I started there as a MArch student. It definitely helps with admission to the GSAPP (and other competitive MArch programs) if you are a successful student in either the New York/Paris or Summer Programs. There were a number of MArch students at the GSAPP who had done one or both programs.

Jul 10, 07 1:23 pm  · 
 · 
ibizaClubbin