Archinect
anchor

Entry Level Architecture Job - Advice Anyone?

Matthew J. Mott

Hello all.

I'm hoping that somebody could offer some advice on getting an entry level job in today's economy.

Here's my situation:

I spent 4 years and $80,000 to get my bachelors degree in architecture from a New York college called Alfred State. I did very well and have a good resume and portfolio to show for my time there. Unfortunately I have no work experience in the field which seems to be holding me back, even for the "entry level jobs".

I graduated in May and since then I have sent out hundreds of resumes and applications. I hear back from about 3% of these jobs and most of the time they say "thanks for your interest, but your qualifications are not good enough for us but we'll keep your information on file".

The closest city to where i live is about 50 miles north (Rochester N.Y.). I've been applying to jobs all over the country and cant seem to get any luck. Its not like I'm greedy either, I'm willing to work for 12 bucks an hour for my first few years.

Anybody is welcome to look at my portfolio here on Archinect and give me some constructive criticism (Maybe my portfolio just needs to look better).

Does anybody out there have some advice or tips for getting that "entry level job"???

Aug 20, 12 2:19 pm
fullofit

Make sure you are being specific with your applications, I'm sure you've heard that and someone else will probably say it again.

If you're willing to do 12 an hour, I'd say get a construction job, get your hands dirty, learn how a building really goes together, save on those gym fee's, and then add that to your resume. 

Aug 20, 12 2:28 pm  · 
 · 

The best advice for getting an entry-level job is that there is no advice. It's a combination of timing and dumb luck.

There's factors that definitely help but they are more qualitative than quantitative: