Archinect
anchor

how much to charge a friend??

----

Hey all,

Just like the title says...how much would be a fair rate for both parties. My quandary is that they are friends and I would like to do a good thing for almost next to nothing. Yet they want to help me out in a time of some financial hardships and reimburse me for my time and efforts. That being a 4.5 month design and construction document process with them. So what do I charge them?

Well here is a brief synopsis of my credentials as well as the scope of the project. I am a intern architect who is 2 years out of college yet have been with my current firm for 5 years. My friends offered to just have the house designed through the firm that I work at. My boss decided not to take it due to a distance of 1100 miles between us and them which to him would present some hardships. Ha, not for me!

The house is an absolute monster with a building footprint of 5,692sf and a total square footage of 9,184sf. 4,584sf is heated as the rest of it is divided up between a 5 car garage and 2,654sf of bonus space on the second floor. The home is slab on grade and they were fearful of the house not having enough storage. Haha, I recommended they lower that number many times but they already had their mind set. It also has 4 beds, 4 baths, 2 offices, a VERY large screened in porch and 8 foot hallways throughout the whole space. Just an obnoxious wasteful energy hog but hey everyone has their own taste.

Here is a snapshot of total editing time on CAD:

Created:                Saturday, March 17, 2012  10:31:50:169 PM
  Last updated:           Tuesday, July 10, 2012  4:41:24:520 PM
  Total editing time:     23 days 11:32:23:692