Archinect
anchor

The Best way to bend bass wood.

Minasokoni

I'm kind of new to this, but I was wondering what would be the best way to bend a piece of bass wood.

Also I use Zap-a-gap glue for most of my models, is there something better?

thanks.

- Rob

Dec 4, 06 11:08 am
binary

can i post in this topic or will be a way of self-promoting myself?

?:????

Dec 4, 06 11:22 am  · 
 · 
treekiller

soak in water for many hours, bend, let dry... then glue.

works for most sticks and sheets... can get funky warps if quality of wood sucks.

wood glue/elmers is much less toxic and less visible.

Dec 4, 06 11:24 am  · 
 · 
el jeffe

build a jig, wet the surfaces (amount/time depends upon thickness of material and radius of curvature), place in jig - let dry.
hot water works better than cold.

Dec 4, 06 11:24 am  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

I generally use Sobo glue for all my model-building. Similar properties as Elmer's White Glue when wet, but has a much stronger hold, and stays flexible when dry (as opposed to Elmer's, which becomes brittle when dry).

Dec 4, 06 11:26 am  · 
 · 
treekiller

microwaving soaked pieces works to dry faster - just don't start a fire.

Dec 4, 06 11:27 am  · 
 · 
Chili Davis

I have to second SOBO. I've been using it for years and have no complaints, except that my model from last semester was so huge I went through a whole bottle, and now I'm out!

Not to steal the thread or anything, but what kind of a glue works best with plexi? I'm thinking an epoxy, but I'm not sure. I'll be gluing the pieces face-to-face (sandwich style) so I don't need to worry too much about strength, I just need to prevent lateral movement.

Back to the issue at hand, if I were using a very thin sheet of basswood, roughly how long would I need to soak it to bend it to a slight curve?

Dec 4, 06 11:30 am  · 
 · 
cln1