Archinect
anchor

Response to Donna, re: Traditional Architecture

TIQM

Donna wrote:

EKE don't leave yet - you've been spectacularly patient on this thread, and I am impressed.  That said: what do you like about Classical architecture, or think is appropriate about its use in the 21st Century?  How is Krier's work *not* empty form-making relying on a nostalgic imagined past?  I studied in Vienna at the architecture school where Rob worked (works?) and while Eurpoean historic cities seem more suited for the Krier approach, European architects are also producing the boldest, most interesting new work currently, and it has great urbanistic characteristics.  Why do we need to be afraid of new forms?

Donna - I thought I'd start a new thread to respond to your post, since I said I was done with the last one :)

Thanks for your kind words.  I'd be happy to try to answer your question, but it may take more than a quick post.  For me, the answer is part theoretical and part personal.

The personal part: I was in first year of art school at UCLA when I first became really interested in architecture.  I took a history of architecture elective from Thomas Hines, and became mesmerized by early 20th century modernism in California...Wright, Neutra, Schindler, Harris, Ain.  That class was the turning point for me.  I transferred from UCLA to Cal Poly SLO and got my degree.  As nearly all architecture students in the USA,  I received a modernist education in architecture. My senior thesis was a research project on Rudolph Schindler.

Then I did some traveling, including tours of some great European cities.  This experience affected me greatly.  Although still a modernist true-believer, my perspective on design was widened.  As a Los Angeles native, born and bred, I had never experienced the kind of nurturing, appealing urbanism that was so effortless and common in places like Florence, or Rome, or London or Paris. It was eye-opening for me.