Archinect
anchor

Alternative Career Path_Real Estate Development

RandomWorks

Have any of you ventured into real estate development? If so, did you pursue any additional training (i.e. a real estate development degree or Urban Land Institue certificate) prior to making the jump?

Feb 4, 12 3:16 pm
quizzical

Random: Yes, although I'm in private practice today, I have spent about 40% of my career so far in real estate development. I have an MBA in addition to my degree in architecture. The advanced degree opened some doors that probably would not have been open to me otherwise. But, I do know a fair number of architects who have transitioned to RE without special education in the field. As with many career transitions, at the end of the day it's all about who you know and what you can actually do.

While RE does tend to pay a lot better that architecture, you cannot necessarily rely on the RE industry to provide significantly more job security than professional practice -- after all, the conditions that cause architectural activity to fluctuate tend to originate in RE.  As a general statement, when jobs are hard to find in architecture, they're equally hard to find in RE. During slow periods, the lack of proper credentials can make finding a job in RE almost impossible, unless you're incredibly lucky or extremely well connected.