Archinect
anchor

Law Degree With MArch?

majpdx23

I am a first year grad student and have been flirting with the idea of getting my law degree either right after I get my MArch or a couple years down the road. Would the addition of a Law degree be appealing to a large firm and would it be worth the time to do?

Jan 30, 12 12:27 pm
On the fence

It would be very benificial when applying to a law firm when your desire is to become a lawyer.

Jan 30, 12 12:48 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

It would probably have some (not a lot) of "value', but you won't get compensated for it.  An architectural firm doesn't practice law, so how could they bill out your time as a lawyer?   Make up your mind which profession you want to be in.  Can't do both.  My advice:  skip MArch, get a law degree, and make an actual living (now there's a concept). 

Jan 30, 12 1:08 pm  · 
 · 

An MArch and a JD?  That sounds like a phenomenal waste of money.  With that kind of ambition, you should be a politician.  Moon bases, yo!

Jan 30, 12 1:10 pm  · 
 · 
el jeffe

i think the MArch would be far more appealing to a law firm if you did construction litigation, than a JD to an architecture firm.

Jan 30, 12 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

you guys don't know what you're talking about. having a degree in architecture, or civil engineering, or project management, is an excellent asset when your intention is to enter the field of construction law. many law firms that deal with construction/development related disputes look for backgrounds in these things.

i would encourage you, mikeyjoe23, to network with nearby law firms that do such work, and ask the attornies there.

Jan 30, 12 1:43 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect