Archinect
anchor

Thread Central

Carrera

Curt – the paradox is that if I did reach out and hire a “boy” to help me, he would end up accusing me of being a pedophile.

Mar 11, 15 1:36 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

then don't be a pedophile

Mar 11, 15 1:46 pm  · 
 · 
Mr_Wiggin

So, as an intern put in charge of wrangling un-responsive consultants right before a hard deadline, what is the best angle to use to get them off their asses?  I'm a Marine Corps vet, so the methods I'm familiar with don't translate well into the civilian world...

Mar 11, 15 4:17 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]
You'd be surprised. Call. If they don't call back, call their boss, and explain that if their intent is to not comply with project deadlines, then you might find another firm that will respect deadlines.
Mar 11, 15 4:24 pm  · 
 · 

Phone calls, not emails, is first. They'll just ignore your emails. Get them on the phone and tell them "I need this by this date." Then after the phone call email them a confirmation.

Mar 11, 15 4:25 pm  · 
 · 

Great minds, b3ta!

Mar 11, 15 4:26 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

copy your boss and their boss - that'll get their attention

Mar 11, 15 4:48 pm  · 
 · 
Mr_Wiggin

I ended up getting one of his subordinates on the phone, I've been trying to call the guy for the last 3 weeks for various things, only to get the receptionist and no movement on their end afterwards, but we're issuing today.  A few phone calls in the span of 30 minutes took care of it.  Got my sheets, and they're out the door!  Thanks!

Mar 11, 15 5:45 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

congrats!

Mar 11, 15 5:48 pm  · 
 · 
Carrera