Archinect
anchor

Model making tools

TimR

Can anyone suggest good tools for model making?  I am in my first year of grad school and making a million models.  Cutting through thick chipboard can be quite the exercise and think there has got to be a better way!  Does anyone use dremels for model making?  I tried to search online and there are no good sources other than buying the typical olfa knife, exacta, ect.  Please advise!

Tim

Dec 10, 11 4:28 pm
Beepbeep

laser cutter works best for chipboard, the chopper 2 for small wood pieces. your school should have some kind of wood/model shop that has table saws etc i use wood mostly for models so actual tools work best. 

Dec 10, 11 5:12 pm  · 
 · 
jmanganelli

for hand cutting chipboard i always use an old-fashioned fixed-blade utility knife, as they are very, very sturdy and the blade never slips or breaks under any normal usage.  invest in a good cork-backed ruler from Fairgate.  Get a nice, large cutting mat from Alvin -- one of the thicker ones.  Also, for quick and dirty models, nothing is faster than hot glue.

Dec 11, 11 1:47 am  · 
 · 
technophobia

Have you tried getting a mat cutter (the kind used for framing)? They're meant to cut thicker material and at precise angles too. Go for the adjustable handheld types; large rail-based cutters are expensive and take up more space than they're worth.

Dec 11, 11 2:28 am  · 
 · 

Aside from tools in the shop (band saw, chop saw, various sanders, laser cutter, etc), this was pretty much all I ever needed to build a model ... unless it got really fun (then insert hacksaw, cordless drill, plaster, soldering iron, etc)

For the really small pieces or to hold pieces together ...

For the thicker materials ...

Dec 12, 11 12:01 am  · 
 · 

On dremels ...