Archinect
anchor

>20K ??

lamp4036

I was offered less then $20,000 in a mid-size/large US city at a firm that mostly does roof replacements. Full time, no benefits. However, I am a BS Arch grad with no office experience. In this economy should I take it and just get experience, IDP or should I keep looking for something else?

Nov 15, 11 6:10 pm
Jefferson

that's ridiculous.  you could manage a starbucks for $40gs

architecture salaries just piss me off...

Nov 15, 11 6:11 pm  · 
 · 
elinor

seriously, it sounds like death.

just thought i'd mention that in my state, unemployment insurance payments are 405/week. over a year, that amounts to 21060.  so you could theoretically take home more money while not working.

i'd say take a pass and spend a few months tending bar while looking for a real job...

Nov 15, 11 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
elinor

ps--don't pass on it without trying to negotiate.  make a counteroffer.

Nov 15, 11 6:19 pm  · 
 · 

Depends on what US city it is. But you should never take any office job, administrative assistants included, for less than $25,000.

The very idea of being a "white-collar worker" on a waiter/waitress salary is ridiculous.

Nov 15, 11 7:02 pm  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

At 40 hours a week, that's $9.62/hour.  Hardly seems worth it. I bet you would probably end up working more than 40 hrs per week on top of it.  Do you have the professional BS degree or the 4 year degree? In my state, a person without a professional degree cannot be an exempt employee. That means that you cannot be a salaried individual and have to be paid hourly. Might be worth looking into for your negotiations. 

With no experience in this job market, I would shoot for $12/hr. - start at $13 cause they'll bump you down. Take the job and then immediately continue looking for your next career move. 3 months of experience is better than none. Even better if you can get paid for it, but don't let them take advantage of you. Play the game.  

Nov 15, 11 8:12 pm  · 
 · 
newguy