Archinect
anchor

Did deconstruction turn into blobitecture some time in the 90's?

drawmore.flounces

I'm not an architect but I will soon be giving a lecture on deconstruction in architecture, fashion and art. I am actually an artist with about $200,000 sunk into getting my MFA and I have found myself stuck in a foreign country teaching fashion illustration. Good planning. I have the lecture pretty much done.  But I need a conclusion. I need to figure out if it helped move anything else forward. Seems like a black hole instead. Did it influence anything else? Did fracturing form help parametric design in architecture along? Maybe the best thing it did was push people towards better urban planning or some kind of reinvented modernism (out of disdain for Eisenman).

Give me a hand here. Ideas? I want to close the book on this crap. If I listen to one more Libeskind interview I am going to blow my fooking brains out.

Sep 30, 11 4:38 pm
awaiting_deletion

deconstruction free'd us from any historical commitment, thus allowing computer technique to takeover.

all of eisenmans, liebeskinds, gehry's shit was solved by young guys who knew computers.

in a joint interview at Ohio state, Eisenman denied the computer, but the wise Sanford Kwinter recognized it's importance.

it's an absurd accident.

Frank Kafka

Oct 1, 11 12:44 am  · 
 · 

suf's comment seems right, to an extent. but as part of freedom from 'historical commitment', i'd make a special point of freedom from both recognized typology and recognized construction industry standards/techniques. it's not just the shedding of historical garb and stylistic approach that was triggered during the 80s and 90s, it was also the dropping of any pretense that a building had to look like a building (much less communicate what type of building), had to appear to honor gravity, had to be built in ways that the construction industry commonly practiced, or even had to accommodate particular uses in a meaningful way.