Archinect
anchor

Unemployed grad watches family pay $30K to another architect. Frustration.

blankblank

I have family members who recently had a flood in their country home in the Northeastern United States. The home has been flooded 3 times in the last 10 years but the basic structure has stood for 100. Before the most recent flood, this property was valued at $1M. It's a secluded and rustic site located between a river and a canal, surrounded by the woods. 

I graduated from a top Master's program (Ivy) 2 years ago and have been struggling to find a job that pays. Perhaps they see me as inexperienced, or maybe they don't understand where I'm coming from. I've been "commissioned" by them to find bathroom hardware for their full-time home. The comment that revealed their lack of understanding of the field was, "Hey, since you're an architect, what are the hours of the art museum in D.C.?" Last month I received an email from them letting me know of a social media job.

On one hand they are trying to be helpful, but on the other, I'd love to get involved in this very real ARCHITECTURE project. I admit, I'm not prepared to be functional entirely on my own, but I just am frustrated that they didn't even ask about ideas, or use it as an opportunity to negotiate experience for me. Instead, they hired a much more experienced architect to do some schematic work at an estimate of $30,000 for just the drawings. Good for him, but WTF??? 

Sep 22, 11 9:10 am
tagalong