Archinect
anchor

how much to charge... freelance

How much do people generally charge for a freelance model building project?
the model is for a single-practitioner architect, the project a 4000 s.f. home.
I'm an MArch student (final year), working part-time for another architect, doing freelance on the side for extra cash.

ideas...?

Jun 23, 05 1:40 pm

Or, in the same respect, how much do people charge for freelancing in general? Whether its construction drawings, design work, or just advice, I wouldn't even know where to begin.

Jun 23, 05 1:49 pm  · 
 · 
MysteryMan

Come up with a number based on what you consider to be fair. Then double it. When the client retorts that you're too expensive, ask her to counter-offer. Then counter back until you both hit somewhere in the middle.

Determining your price for your work is no differentthan negotiating w/ a car dealer. Sometimes, you get the job, sometimes you realize that it's not worth your time to deal w/ a cheapskate, or a deadbeat. Negotiating will help you determine if that's who you're daling with.

Also, GET SOME $$$ UP FRONT. Don't contribute to our collective poverty by jumping at any price the client is willing to pay because your (ours, collectively) is worth more than they think.

Jun 23, 05 1:53 pm  · 
 · 
raj

depends on detail and costs...

being a professional...you need to figure out how much time it will take you, how much it will cost you and finally how much are you worth! (per hour) then you can give a final number!

think about it...if you can make more $$ working at blockbuster for the same amount of time...wouldn't that make more sense?!? only way i would do it for less is if i am trying to get a future job with them...HOWEVER, if you are cheap when you get an offer from the it will be CHEAP...

don't charge per sqft, don't charge a number you think it approriate WITHOUT figuring out the above.

just continuing my DON'T WORK FOR FREE CAMPAIGN!!

Jun 23, 05 1:53 pm  · 
1  · 
MysteryMan

RAJ,