Archinect
anchor

Do you think it's stupid to major interior design rather than M.arch?

hegelian89

Hi, this is my first thread. Sorry for my English sentences.

My writing skill is poor but I'm trying to improve it.

I am 22/Bachelor of Arts/International/studying in ESL course.

And I don't have any experience in any industry related to architecture or interior design.

Actually I studied about Art criticism and Art history.

But I want to do more practical thing. I had tried to draw more before I graduated.

So I decided to study interior design a few months ago.

I read a few threads in this forum. They were very helpful but it made me disappointed.

I want to work in interior design industry. I need the first professional training to be one of the good interior design employees.

But many people studied M.Arch said it's waste of my time and money. They said I'd better prepare to M.Arch! I never thought about that option. They said if I graduate from interior design, my works will be extremely limited.

I didn't know much about Architecture programs but I made a list to apply.

1. Pratt M.Arch. : I'm not sure whether I can study both of Architecture and Interior design.

2. SAIC M.Arch with Emphasis in Interior Architecture (option 2; candidates w/o B.Arch)

3. University of Cincinnati M.Arch (option I) : I heard they have No.1 interior design undergraduate school program. I think it's gonna helpful.

4. Oregon State University M.I.Arch (option III)

5. Boston Architectural College M.I.D.

6. Kansas State University M.Interior design and product design.

1, 2, 3 are accredited by NAAB. And 4,5,6 are accredited by CIDA.

I don't want to regret of my choice. But I don't know what is the best choice for me.

Can you give me any advice that will work for me please?

I'm searching for my best choice. If there's a perfect program for me, I can spend another year for my future. Any advices will be very helpful. THANK YOU!

Aug 28, 11 5:12 pm
citizen