Archinect
anchor

A Tribute to Per Corell

undership1

A Tribute to Per Corell

An afternoon in some distant August, you sat beside your tearful child removing the stingers carefully, one by one. Curiosity had led him to the overgrown brambles along the fence where he had disturbed a hive. You thought of the injustice and cruelty of nature, to inflict this upon one who had already suffered through so much. That evening, in a rage, you smashed the ghastly hive with a rotting plank, determined to bear its swarming wrath with defiance and dignity. It would not be the last time. With hands already swelling red from venom, you reached into the eye of that furious storm, ripping the hive to shreds. A scrap you kept as a lucky talisman and warning against that which might bring harm to those you love.
A boat builder by trade, you dedicated your life to the beauty of utility. You perfected your craft with hard work and skill, providing for your family through this most noble of pursuits. Had it not been for a chance encounter, you might never have veered from this steady course. That fateful day you walked to the Academy as usual, talisman in hand. The fragment of hive had become crisp and gray, yet its paper-thin structure would not yield under your powerful grip. Lost in this observation, you happened to step into the roadway. You were struck down by a heedless vehicle. For a moment, you could not breathe. It occurred to you then that you had never seen the city like this, looking up while laying in the street. You felt as though you were clinging to the bottom of a great vessel, held fast to it by an invisible force. The buildings on either side seemed to race toward some infinite vanishing point. You lost your bearings and looked to the side, just to regain a hold on the familiar. Beside you, your talisman lay intact. At that moment you received a revelation, a revelation to which you would dedicate your life. There was a new way to build. A way of building which was so