Archinect
anchor

Recently graduated and trying to plan my career

Lson92

I graduated about 6 months ago with my Master's in Architecture and for the past year, I've been trying to get some kind of grasp on where I want to take my career. Originally when I went into Architecture school I had the intentions of getting an internship once I got out and working towards getting my license. But after learning about the long process and learning that professionally I might have to start back at square 1 in terms of career wise, I've become quite unsure about getting licensed and instead of getting an internship right out of college I accepted a job outside of the architecture field. While in school picked up valuable experience in construction and residential structural design. I was a project manager at a construction company for 1 year, a residential structural floor system designer for a year, and a cost estimator with a lumber company for 4 years. Not to sound like I'm above my peers, but I feel with the experience I've gained from the jobs I held while in college, I should be looking for a more advanced line of work than an internship in the design field. Another thing that also has deterred me from entering into an internship is a number of money interns make isn't really worth wild and what I feel is not at a good starting point for someone with a Master's degree. I had a few interviews with a few architecture firms after graduating with my Master's degree, but ultimately I accepted a job opportunity working as a structural floor and roof system designer with a company that offers me about 65,000 a year in comparison to my peers who received internships and are making between 40,000 - 45,000 a year. I'm pretty content with where I am at now, but ultimately I'm looking at the bigger picture and where I want to be career wise and weighing my options. I'm not sure if I want to stay in the line of work I am in now, even though, there is a high demand for residential st