Archinect
anchor

A gut feeling.

Venus.as.a.boy

I'm a low income student in my early 20's continuing my education into a bachelors. Due to outside circumstances I have never or won't be able for a long time to receive financial aid. I have been showering with pure cold water because my family cant even afford to replace a water heater. Even with my grades and record I could be going to Uni almost for very cheap.

I am under heavy personal mental stress everyday despite my family's happiness and congratulations from everyone. 

I am weeks away from signing on a loan to continue into my bachelor's.

However, it will be 40k and a bachelors in design in a good state school; I will need to get a masters in order to get licensed hence more money later on. The school offers no additional aid since architecture is not as a priority as other fields.

My gut is telling me not to do it.

I know with the work I have now I can possibly get into cornell or IIT and be offered a substantial amount of assistance and graduate with a professional degree.

Am I being too safe? Should I be grateful for the opportunity? Or should I keep thinking on this and play my cards right? I hope I don't come across as arrogant, I would really like a perspective from some of the older established individuals here.

Jul 22, 17 4:33 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 27 Comments

geezertect

It's hard to understand exactly what your situation is.  If you are debating whether to go to a "good" state school via student loans for a non-professional degree, or going to an Ivy or near Ivy for a professional degree with less student debt, then the question seems like a no-brainer.  Would the IIT or Cornell degree be after you finish up a the good state school?  Maybe you can clarify.

In either case, architecture is generally not a terrific investment.  If you are low income with no social or business connections, it is really not a terrific investment.

Jul 22, 17 5:52 pm  · 
 · 
Venus.as.a.boy