Archinect
anchor

No interviews because "job hopping"?

cxhy0

These past 2 years have been a series of strange things and so I've had 3 jobs in this time and am now looking for my 4th.

I graduated in 2015 and ended up working at a firm that, at the time, had a lot of problems. I ended up leaving for another opportunity after 8 months to learn Revit (4 other employees have left around the time I did). The next place was temp to hire/contract and I was let go/contract ended after 3 months when the person I was meant to replace ended up having his Visa renewed (and other issues). I took this as a sign and moved to another state and got another job. Tried my best to work out problems I had at previous jobs and it still didn't work out. This last job ended up letting me go after 8 months because it was such a small firm and they needed someone with more experience. These 3 firms have been around 5-7 employees for reference. 

This time last year I was applying and had about 10 interviews. I'm now struggling to get even 1. I've reworked my portfolio and cover letter since then and I don't know if it's because of my job history that no one's wanting to interview me. I really did want to do architecture but I'm a bit discouraged now. I never intended to have this many jobs as a fresh grad. 

Should I leave the 3 month job off my resume? I'd appreciate any advice anyone has. 

Jul 5, 17 3:17 pm
randomised

I'm at my 6th job since graduation in '10 and have never left any job off my resumé, shortest being 3 months, longest 2 being 2 years. I also never intended to have that many jobs but sometimes that's just the way it goes, Rem never got back to me so there's that :)