Archinect
anchor

Masters in Architecture for a structural engineer

smrithi9009

I would like to know about my chances of getting into Masters program for Architecture in Universities of US and Europe. 

I am currently living in India. I am a practicing Structural Engineer with a Masters degree in Structural Engineering and a Bachelors degree in Civil Engineering. 

Thanks

Smrithi

Jun 28, 17 11:06 am
archietechie

I'd like to know my chances of getting into NASA.

I'm currently living in the States. I am a practicing Architect with a bachelors degree in Architecture.

Thanks

Archie

Jun 28, 17 11:29 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

There are a few engineers that transition in easily, I don't see why you would. Structural engineering must be more well paid, fun and overall not as shitty.

Jun 29, 17 4:50 am  · 
 · 
smrithi9009

@archiwutm8 You're right..I enjoy my work as a Structural Engineer. Recently I got to work on a few projects based on sustainable architecture. I found it really interesting and would like to orient my career focusing on sustainability. I think it would be a worthy investment of my time. I would like to get suggestions regarding the kind of Schools I should be looking at and how I should shape my portfolio as I do not have a background in Architecture.

Thank you for your time!

Jun 29, 17 5:20 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

The thing is, you don't exactly need experience in architecture for your portfolio. Most universities want a mix of things, just have one project with more "architecture" based plans, sections and narrative. I've recently met someone who was a chartered architect, structural engineer and surveyor. He preferred his engineer and surveyor side of things in terms of work life balance.

Jun 29, 17 8:05 am  · 
 · 
smrithi9009

Thanks a lot for the comments about portfolio. I don't know if I'll make it to any of the grad schools. But I'm sure I'll enjoy the whole experience leading up to it..:)

Jun 29, 17 12:44 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user