Archinect
anchor

My professor told me I'm not good enough. Should I quit?

jessyok

I'm currectly in college studying architecture, I'm in my first year and a couple months ago my professor said to me that he doesn't think architecture is my right path.

Last semester I got really bad grades, a D in a drawing class and a C in design fundamentals

And now this semester i've gotten two c's in design fundamentals. One was analysis drawings and the other one we had to create a tiny house.

The thing is, I feel like I'm not really learning anything. Like, they don't really teach us it's just critic after critic. Of course I do learn from this, but I wish we got thought more about spaces so i knew what i was doing. 

I feel like they're only honest with me during the last presentation. Like, during the process they seem to actually like it, and don't seem to mind the drawings. But it's not until the last minute they use different words to say it sucks and my drawings are terrible.

My school also sucks, it's all handrawing and we don't use computers until second year. So I've been kinda wanting that. Cause apparently I'm not very good at drawing and I've been kinda hoping once we get to be more technological, it'll be better for me. If I decide to stick with it.

Jun 10, 17 12:46 am

1 Featured Comment

All 26 Comments

Koww

It could be the wrong thing for you or the wrong school or maybe you're not doing enough work, or have some other thing in your life holding you back.

Jun 10, 17 3:57 am  · 
 · 
archietechie

Methinks you're having the wrong expectations of architecture school atm. You went in with the expectation that you'll learn how to craft spaces to dimensions, this you will...just not in the early stages of education.