Archinect
anchor

Portfolio & Resume Critique

Hey guys,

I just moved to a NYC and have begun looking for a job. I graduated about 3 months ago from Polytechnic University of PR, and I've been emailing firms about employment opportunities. I've definitely learned that one has to be patient with this process and it's much tougher to get a response from the firm.

I've linked my resume and portfolio below, and I am hoping to get any critiques or comments you all may have for me about how to better sell myself. Additionally, if you all have any tips on how to approach firms , I would appreciate it. Keep in mind I am a recent graduate with around 7months of experience looking for entry / junior level employment.

Thanks.

-Eric

Portfolio : https://issuu.com/erice.garced/docs/prtfl_mk.3__issuu_

Jun 9, 17 1:09 am
the_perpetual_dreamer

good job, Eric.

I am in the same position that you are and i swear it gets very frustrating waiting for replies. I love the diagrams you use in your portfolio. I only feel there are a bit too much text in some of the slides. I think you should keep the text to absolute minimum while giving more space for your diagrams and renders. 

Best of Luck.

Jun 9, 17 2:28 am  · 
 · 
noire

Thanks!, I understand what you mean it gets to the point that it affects my self esteem as a starting architect, but one must not succumb to those detrimental thoughts. And for the texts, in some proyects I kept it to a minimum while others are more in depth because two of the proyects had research with written papers, so these are just the abstract/narrative per se. Either way thanks for the suggestion.

Jun 9, 17 7:41 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
I hate the self reported software skill graph. Everyone does it and it's meaningless.
Jun 9, 17 6:25 am  · 
 · 
noire

What do you graphically prefer/ recommend then?

Jun 9, 17 7:42 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur