Archinect
anchor

Not ready for MLA, but unsure of how to find out

monicarocha

Hello,

I'm an art school grad who's been out of school for about 4 years now. I'm interested in pursuing an MLA/MFA at Penn, but really do not know where to start professionally. 

I've done freelance copywriting, freelance marketing for farm, a year-long acting course, and even a landscape architecture portfolio preparation class at UC Berkeley, but short of starting to try to make it as a painter who really likes the ideas of David Harvey, Burle, and Terry Irwin, I don't know how I can gain practical experience that would reflect my experience/interest in lieu of having a degree in LA.

Any suggestions? What are some ways to inch forward in the profession without a degree? I'm open to the idea that this degree may not be for me, but I'm wondering how I can find out how.

Jun 6, 17 9:14 pm
archietechie

Try an internship but be warned, you'll have to start at the bottom of the totem pole though.

Jun 6, 17 9:38 pm  · 
 · 
Dangermouse

You're ready for a degree now.  I can't speak to Penn specifically but at the GSD roughly half of all new admits come from non-design backgrounds.  Yes, people who haven't opened AutoCAD can get into professional design programs.  

I cant speak to the professional/non professional ratio @ Penn but I'd suspect its quite similar.  You have the art school background, which is a major plus, you can talk about art and a specific medium of it with specificity and detail, AND presumably you can write a coherent, persuasive SOP to the adcom detailing why you want to study LA @ Penn.  From there, its a matter of assembling a portfolio (marketing / copywriting work is perfectly acceptable for this, as is undergrad work), getting some good letters of recommendation, and not cratering your GRE's.    You  also have ~7 months to get this done.  

Jun 6, 17 10:36 pm  · 
 · 
ReddishEgret