Archinect
anchor

AA, Cardiff or Newcastle?

DangerZone

I have got the undergraduate offers from these schools recently and I am an international student. Though it seems that the style of AA suits me, including debates, freedom, flexibility, parametric stuff, radical suggestions, and I do want to find my strengths and be a part to change the future in related fields, there may be a big difference between imagination and reality.

Since I am from a society that contains no imagination and design, wherever I graduate, I can not design unless I work overseas in the future. I trust that the future will be led by pioneers and technology, however, is the imagination of AA frequently an obstacle in the career in the Western world? Also, if I want to work in the Europe or America, will the AA diploma be problematic?

Besides, the AA will have another director, and it is always severely criticised about the drop in academic level in this forum, also, regarding the qualification problem, will Cardiff and Newcastle be better options? Is Cardiff better than Newcastle? Thank you!

Jun 5, 17 8:06 am
Eras.H

Congratulations! 

There are quite a lot debates generally on the dramatic gap between the academic education and practices in the UK/RIBA. But I don't think AA is problematic on this. 

I am not sure how much budget you have and what is your (potential) career plan in the future. I would suggest do what you are really interested in rather than what the reality might look like since you are only in your undergraduate. You can still take a shift during your master without too many problems after AA's curriculum. It's true, AA does provide great resource, colleagues, nice faculties, and facilities. In terms of practice, since they share the same RIBA system and curriculum, you still get what you need for your future job (& lots of what you will not learn in university, which is all the same to other programs). & London is an amazing city.