Archinect
anchor

Civil Engineer who wish to become an architect

faletherra

Hi i am currently 35 years old and is browsing through my options as either to become an interior designer / architect.

I was a civil engineer for about 5 years before i switched career to become an educator. I had deal with projects on underground tunneling and concrete casting when i was a civil engineer. In 2015, i was qualified as a school teacher to teach design and technology but i find the school's environment rather toxic.

I am researching on various career options such as architect. I have looked through schools in Europe - Education in UK was really expensive, German was affordable but i do not know their languages and it will take be some time to master it. There was some schools in Lithuania who is still affordable but offer 5 years M.arch course..

(i)I am not sure if by taking up the 5 years M.arch course in Lithuania will be good for employ-ability ? I will be in my 40s and need to repay school loans.

(ii)I could like to find out if there are other schools out there who offer an  affordable but relatively good Bachelor Degree course on Arch.

(iii) I was contemplating on taking a master in architecture but i am not sure if i can enjoy the M.arch with my civil engineering background? Can i still do some designing with civil engineering degree + M.arch?

(iv) I am actually interested in becoming a developer too.

Jun 5, 17 3:53 am
Volunteer

There are plenty of civil engineers in the US that design and build homes and have their own firms. If anything, you might benefit from a course or two in architectural history from a professor without a stylistic ax to grind. Basically you need a job with another CE who is already pursuing your goals. Your CE degree would be very valuable in tying together the hardscaping elements of landscaping your projects as well. Apologies in advance as I do not know what roadblocks RIBA can throw up in your path.

Jun 5, 17 9:15 am  · 
 ·