Archinect
anchor

Are jobs in architecture academia popular?

Non-ASD Jequitarchitectur

I have heard that education is one of the best industries to work in:

-The job is fairly easy to do (Frank Abagnale quote: I just read one chapter ahead of my students; they never realised.)

-Less hours (no work in summer, easter, xmas)

-Little stress 

-Job security

-Upward mobility with length of service

The school I graduated from recruits MArch graduates (with little to no professional experience) as teaching staff for 1st & 2nd year. I guess that says a lot about the quality of the school, but also raises this question:

If these jobs are indeed popular, how come they are taken by recent graduates and not by experienced professionals who are by far better applicants? 

May 4, 17 7:09 pm

2 Featured Comments

All 13 Comments

∑ π ∓ √ ∞
Huh?
May 4, 17 7:49 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

what you have learned is completely the opposite on almost every point

May 4, 17 7:52 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
Da fuk?
May 4, 17 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
Featured Comment
citizen

"Little stress"

May 4, 17 9:05 pm  · 
 · 
Featured Comment
citizen

I will say that teaching can be a great deal of fun.

But anyone claiming that it's easy, low-stress, and guarantees job security and upward mobility has never done it.  Or done it well, let's say.

May 4, 17 9:10 pm  · 
 · 

You really don't think you'll get "paid" teaching 1,2 studio sections a year do you? 

May 4, 17 9:51 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

...how come they are taken by recent graduates and not by experienced professionals....

Prob because the position doesn't pay anything and has no job security.  In short, no one else will take it.  To become a full professor is a good gig, but very hard to do.

May 5, 17 9:11 am  · 
 · 
The only people I've ever heard say that teaching is easy and low stress are people who have never taught.
May 5, 17 9:27 am  · 
 · 

Ok it sees I got it all wrong then.

May 5, 17 3:12 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect