Archinect
anchor

Resources for an unlicensed designer -- where to start

westcoast810817

I'm looking for good resources to build a knowledge base regarding the processes of taking a design through construction.  My degree is in another field so I have virtually no knowledge of the design and construction process -- what type of construction drawings are delivered to whom and when, permitting processes, conforming to building codes, etc etc.  Looking more for sources on the actual logistical, construction, and legal processes etc.  I understand the design limitations impossed on unlicensed practitioners and that even then most plans will have to get stamped by a licensed architect but beyond that my knowledge is pretty low-level.  Looking to get a broad overview of the whole proccess and what all the steps are and then be able to dive down in-depth into each step.  Haven't had much luck finding any solid web resources or textbooks.  If sources relate specifically to building in California even better but any suggestions that can start to give me a good foundation are appreciated.

May 4, 17 8:05 pm
Non Sequitur
That's why you hire an architect.
May 4, 17 8:00 pm  · 
 · 
Archlandia
Do construction, you'll learn a ton, and then eventually work for an architecture firm
May 4, 17 8:33 pm  · 
 · 
MyDream

Consultation starts at $150 an hr.

May 4, 17 9:09 pm  · 
 · 
westcoast810817