Archinect
anchor

emailing for student internship?

eastcoast

I am currently a second year student looking for a summer job. I knew the odds were slim but i emailed many (like around 12) different firms about a possible internship for the summer in case there was a chance I would get one. For the next summer, after my third year I would really seriously like an internship, or would pretty much need one. I want to be sure that I am going about the process right. What should you do if you the firm you are trying to contact only has a online contact form but no direct email. There is no way to attach any resume or portfolio. should you email anyway and should they request a portfolio send it? I'm not sure what the most professional thing would be in this situation. Also, i know that many architects are considered 'intern' architects until they actually become real architects. is there something to distinguish this from a student internship?

Apr 30, 17 10:24 pm
MyDream

Sure I email firm all the time and I got an interview at cuhaci and Peterson from attach a resume and attach some sample files. There is a more professional way I bet, but this what I do.(not an intern by the way)

Apr 30, 17 11:00 pm  · 
 · 
MyDream

Sure I email firms all the time and I got an interview at cuhaci and Peterson from it. Attach a resume and some sample files followed by a phone call. There is a more professional way I bet, but this what I do.(not an intern by the way).....damn I couldn't correct mistakes...lol

Apr 30, 17 11:08 pm  · 
 · 
Archlandia
Email them exactly what you are trying to accomplish and how their firm aligns with your goals. Always attach a portfolio, resume and cv when possible before having them ask you for it, because they won't spend the time to do that. Let them know that you're a student searching for a summer gig, that's okay. Mention skills that you have that may benefit their office setting.