Archinect
anchor

Licensed Activity...engineer is plan stamping?

jrjrdiablo

(I guess I am writing to see what others response would be about a situation that I have come to know about from a friend.)

I am an architect in Florida.  I have a friend who moved back to Georgia and is trying to start up a small firm with another guy.  My friend is not licensed but his partner is.  The interesting part is what my friend has come across when working with the local county & city governments where his small firm will be located.  He's never dealt with them previously so he was unaware of how they engaged in business.  One thing to note is that his uncle is a plans examiner/code official in a neighboring county.

My friend mentioned that the county & city will have small to mid sized projects built (i.e. Meeting room renovations, animal shelters, etc) Some of which are extensive and deal with assembly spaces etc.  The odd part is that they will employ a local engineer to do the design & the local AHJ will accept the engineers seal for the architectural documents.  My friend said that the county officials seem unaware of the state statue requirements for design professionals such as architects and engineers signing & sealing.  I have a hard time believing that.  From what my friend has told me, this local engineer's wife is on the city board as well.