Archinect
anchor

ARE 5 Study Materials

domestico

There's another ARE 5 study materials thread on here, but it's all reps from publishers pretending to be interns selling their study manuals.  

Anyway - to the real interns - and Canadian interns taking this test - what books did you find absolutely necessary - I ask because I'm Canadian and ARE can also be taken to meet licensure requirements- so I'm thinking I need to study the AIA Handbook of Practice for the practice management and project management exams.   For contracts, ethics and legal aspects  - does the handbook of practice cover these?  Could anyone tell me if the ARE 5 Review Manual by Ballast has all of this information rolled into one? 

Apr 16, 17 4:25 pm
s=r*(theta)

I can tell you this, ballast study material is pretty good, I typically start there. then supplement with kaplan and other materials. for these exams though, I actually passed cds in 4.0 which basically is the same as these 5.0 exams. I studied ballast 4.0, architects handbook of propractice, schiff hardin lectures (which are huge), and AiA contract documents specifically A101, A201, B101, C101, G-series, pay app, change directive, change order, list of subs, substantial completion. I basically just used kaplan practice quizzes and exams only to gauge my understanding of the material

Best to you

Apr 17, 17 11:28 am  · 
 · 
mtdew

I studied both ballast and kaplan. I preferred ballast as it was more efficient at getting to the point. 

Apr 17, 17 11:33 am  · 
 · 
Ballast 5.0 is too in depth for the new exams, IMHO. It's good for an overview, but much of it was only worth skimming. I referred to many more old textbooks to review/study material in 5.0 vs 4.0. In 4.0 I almost exclusively stuck with Ballast and Kaplan (exception was CDS material, s=r*theta hit most of the high points).
Apr 17, 17 5:31 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

especially the structural portion, I have found. YMMV.

Apr 17, 17 5:38 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect